MOVING LINES I [SODE 279/SODET 279] Cover Art: "Open Water" by Jane Poutney

Moving Lines I



  1. Enchantment
  2. The Water's Edge
  3. Spirit Across The Waters
  4. Hemispheres


  1. The Awakening Earth
  2. Sunshower
  3. Aotearoa
  4. Open Haven

Originally recorded as two programmes for the Crosscurrents series on Radio New Zealand's Concert Programme and released on Ode Records in 1987, Moving Lines 1 drew on the improvisational skills of Michelle Scullion (flutes, koauau), Jann Rutherford (piano), Roger Sellers (drums, ambient and sampled percussion) and Phil Bowering (composition, bass, synthesisers) to create connections between the compositions and to dissolve the sense that the compositions are distinct and separate entities. David Parsons provided the synthesisers and assisted with the realisation of the work in the studio. The recording was engineered by Alistair McAlpine and produced by Kevin Oliff at Studio II, Radio New Zealand, Wellington.

The concept of MOVING LINES, or lines which signify changes or movement, comes from the I Ching or Book of Changes. The Book of Changes is an oracle based on two fundamental principles of Yin and Yang and contains interpretations of 64 hexagrams derived from tossing 3 coins six times. Each toss produces a number between six to nine, which represents a line which is either firm or yielding (Yang or Yin) and at rest or in motion (a moving line). A moving line is one that is changing from Yin to Yang or vice versa, thus a hexagram containing any moving lines will yield a further hexagram.


Moving Lines Live

This page is dedicated to the memory of Jann Rutherford, who died on 9 March 2003, and Roger Sellers, who died on 14 July 2018.

From Source to Sea
From Source To Sea


Michelle Scullion's web site