Flamewave International' FLAMEWAVE MUSIC and FLAMEWAVE PRODUCTIONS evolved into FLAMEWAVE INTERNATIONAL during the course of the LOW PROFILE recording partnership with Steve Garden. Five recordings were released between 1983 and 1987 with the support of James Moss and Jayrem Records, with Moving Lines 1 being released on Ode Records. This page is dedicated to the memory Mike Farrell, Matthew Brown, Jann Rutherford and Roger Sellers, participants on these recordings who are no longer with us.


Lights ON

Phil Bowering: Hiatus

Wolves of Power

Quiet Streets

Elephunk in My Soup

Lights On/Modern Homes Phil Bowering: Hiatus FR1 Wolves of Power FR1B Quiet Streets FR2 Elephunk in My Soup FR3
Protons single released on Mike Alexander's Bunk label in 1981 (Bunk 005). A clip was made at TVNZ's Avalon studios shortly before the Protons disbanded. Album of instrumental compositions recorded in December 1981 and released on cassette in early 1982. A mixture of ambient, meditative and experimental pieces.
1982 anti-nuclear single released to coincide with a visit of the USS Truxtun to Wellington. Recorded during a previous visit of the same ship. Backed with Mutants (as a result of nuclear fallout). Album released in 1983. The clip of the track Glass Cage was made on location by independent filmakers for the TVNZ programme Radio With Pictures and broke new ground. This highly acclaimed EP was released in New Zealand in 1984 and Australia in 1985. The entertaining clip of the title track Elephunk was a finalist in the 1984 New Zealand Music Awards.

The Cutting Edge

Simon Says


Moving Lines 1


The Cutting Edge FR4 Simon Says FR5 Elephunkin' FR6/FMC6 Moving Lines 1 SODE279 Psychedelia Grooves
Released in 1986 on the Flamewave International label as a 12" single with a dub mix, The Cutting Edge was described as a "cauldron of swirling, whirling polyrhythmic funk" in one review. EP released in 1987 with a clip of the "sensible radio airplay version," Simon Says included a "slightly bent but equally enjoyable version" and a new version of Elephunk called Elephunkin'... Album released in 1987 featuring some of New Zealand's finest musicians, including Mike Farrell, Brian Smith, Debbie Harwood, Annie Crummer and Betty-Anne Monga. Album of instrumental compositions featuring Jann Rutherford, Michelle Scullion and Roger Sellers. Originally recorded as two programmes for the Radio New Zealand series Crosscurrents. Released in 2004, Psychedelia Grooves marked a return to the spontaneous, exploratory and satirical spirit which informed the best of Phils earlier work.

Low Profile Background Information     Green Man     Metamedia     Strands of Contemporary Music     Home     Portal Productions     Earlier Work