Potent Brew Vision Quest

01 Convergence
02 Shadow Play
03 Scout Dub
04 At Play
05 The Guru Suit
06 Portal Dub
07 Approach
08 Healing
09 Inspiration
10 Rivers In The Sky
11 Save Our Planet
12 Becoming
13 A Strange New World
14 When You Turn Around
15 Word Is Out
16 World Without Want
17 Only A Matter of Time

All tracks composed and arranged by Phil Bowering 2023 Flamewave Music. All rights reserved.

Recorded at Studio Du Rigi, New Plymouth, The Portal, Tataraimaka, Portal II, New Plymouth and The Blue Room, Lower Hutt. Mixed at Portal II and at The Blue Room.

Recorded, mixed, mastered and produced by Phil Bowering.

A Strange New World may accurately describe the post covid world with it's many challenges or equally well allude to a mystical "other world" of non-ordinary reality which is much more difficult to describe and is best experienced. The tracks on this album are an intriguing mix, incorporating elements of rock, jazz, bossa nova, zouk, reggae and dub.

A Strange New World is the forth Potent Brew album, following on from 2022's Vision Quest and 2021's Electric Fire albums.

Phil Bowering was born in the United Kingdom and grew up in New Plymouth, where he learned tenor horn, bass and guitar and began playing in bands. On leaving school he moved to Wellington, completing a BA and then studying Jazz Improvisation with Colin Hemmingsen. He began his recording career working on sessions for film soundtracks and in 1980 recorded original music for the Concert Programme with jazz rock fusion outfit Outlines. The same year he formed the Protons with Tony Richards and in 1981 the Protons released a single, Lights On/Modern Homes. In 1982 Phil released an album of instrumental music, Hiatus, and the anti nuclear single Wolves of Power and towards the end of 1982 began recording in Auckland with drummer Steve Garden and others as Low Profile. Between 1983 and 1987 five Low Profile recordings were released, including the highly acclaimed Elephunk in My Soup and its accompanying clip (1984). Another album, the more jazz orientated Moving Lines 1, was released 1987. After completing an MA in Communications Phil moved to London in 1990 and since returning to New Zealand has lived in Auckland and Taranaki. [More]


Strands of Contemporary Music Metamedia Home